Skip to Content

Press Releases

Congressman Moran and the Texas Delegation Back Abbott in DOJ Lawsuit Against the State of Texas

Washington, D.C. ­– Congressman Nathaniel Moran (TX-01) joined 20 members of the Texas Congressional Delegation that wrote to U.S. Attorney General (AG) Merrick Garland expressing concern and opposition to the Department of Justice’s (DOJ) lawsuit against the State of Texas in relation to Senate Bill 4 (SB4), which passed the Texas legislature on November 21, 2023.  

On December 18, 2023, Governor Greg Abbott signed SB4, making the illegal entry into Texas a state crime. On January 3, 2024, the DOJ responded with a lawsuit against the State of Texas, challenging the constitutionality of SB4.

“The record high levels of illegal migration have taken a toll on Texans throughout the state, prompting Governor Abbott to take action where the Biden Administration has not. The Justice Department's argument that SB4 is unconstitutional neglects the fact that the Texas law simply follows current federal immigration law which already makes it a crime to cross into the U.S. illegally,” the Members wrote. “Since March 2021, Governor Abbott has taken a series of actions in an attempt to alleviate the burden of the crisis at our southern border, but this Administration's failed border policies have enticed migrants to continue to cross. Texas has a responsibility to ensure the safety of its residents and must be allowed to act in a manner that is consistent with that goal.

“President Biden and Secretary Mayorkas have failed Texans and the American people with their open-border policies,” the Representatives continued. “Texas should not be punished for this Administration's refusal to enforce our current immigration laws. We urge that you reconsider your lawsuit and allow the state of Texas to act as necessary to secure the safety of its residents.”

Read the full letter HERE.

This letter was led by Representative Roger Williams (TX-25) and was also signed by Representatives Pat Fallon (TX-04), Jake Ellzey (TX-06), Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Keith Self (TX-03), Chip Roy (TX-21), Michael McCaul (TX-10), Ronny Jackson (TX-13), Lance Gooden (TX-05), Pete Sessions (TX-17), Beth VanDuyne (TX-24), Michael Burgess (TX-26), John Carter (TX-31), Brian Babin (TX-36), Morgan Luttrell (TX-08), Monica De La Cruz (TX-15), Randy Weber (TX-14), Troy Nehls (TX-22), Wesley Hunt (TX-38), and Michael Cloud (TX-27).

Additionally, Florida, Virginia, Georgia, North Dakota, South Dakota, Tennessee, Alabama, Montana, Idaho, Utah, West Virginia, Oklahoma, Nebraska, Arkansas, and Louisiana have announced their support of Texas.


On January 18, 2024, Congressman Moran led the passage of House Resolution (H.Res.) 957, which condemns the Biden Administration’s open borders policies and calls on President Biden to end these policies immediately. The resolution passed the House of Representatives by a 225-187 vote, with fourteen Democrats joining all Republicans in supporting its passage. The passage of the resolution served as a rare bipartisan rebuke of the national security and public safety crisis caused by Biden Administrations’ open border policies and reaffirmed the need to pass meaningful border security legislation like H.R. 2.

In addition to the passage of this House resolution, Congressman Moran reaffirmed the need to continuing pushing for passage of H.R. 2 and its key provisions codifying needed border security reforms. Congressman Moran has been focused on the issue of border security since day one of taking office. Last year, Congressman Moran was one of only eight original co-sponsors, and the only freshman original co-sponsor, to the toughest border security bill passed in decades — H.R. 2 the Secure the Border Act of 2023, which includes the Congressman’s Visa Overstays Penalties Act. His first bill filed in Congress also addressed border security — H.R. 672 the Border Security Investment Act.

To watch Congressman Moran’s remarks on the passage of H. Res. 957, click HERE.