Skip to Content

Press Releases

Congressman Moran, with the Texas Delegation, Pressures Biden Administration on Border Wall Construction

Washington, D.C. ­– Congressman Nathaniel Moran (TX-01) joined 24 members of the Texas delegation in penning a letter pressing the Biden administration for more information regarding the decision to continue border barrier construction.


“While the continued building of the southern border wall is a welcome development – as more than 6 million migrants have been encountered at our border since Biden took office… local officials in Starr County have noted that a new border wall in the county is unlikely to have an impact – at least in the short term – because they have not experienced recent surges in migration,” the delegation wrote.


“This raises the question why DHS would start with – and only restart – border wall construction in Starr County, even going as far as waiving 26 federal laws to do so, and not restart border wall construction in additional sectors or counties along the border.”


“Our border is still in chaos,” the delegation continued. “The American people deserve to know the extent of the executive branch’s border security decisions and the motivations behind them.”


Earlier this year, the Republican led House passed H.R. 2, the Secure the Border Act of 2023, which is widely considered the toughest border security legislation passed by the House of Representatives. This comprehensive bill reinstates many Trump-era policies such as restarting border wall construction and “Remain in Mexico” policy to disincentive illegal migration. It included provisions such as:


  • Visa Overstays Penalties Act, introduced by Congressman Moran, which would reclassify the act of overstaying a visa as “illegal entry” and put the offense on the same standard as aliens that illegally enter through our borders.



The letter was led by Representative Chip Roy (TX-21) and co-signed by Representatives Michael Burgess (TX-26), Jake Ellzey (TX-6), Michael Cloud (TX-27), Lance Gooden (TX-5), Brian Babin (TX-36), Pat Fallon (TX-4), Ronny Jackson (TX-13), Beth Van Duyne (TX-24), Keith Self (TX-3), Monica De La Cruz (TX-15), Michael McCaul (TX-10), Randy Weber (TX-14), Dan Crenshaw (TX-2), August Pfluger (TX-11), John Carter (TX-31), Troy Nehls (TX-22), Roger Williams (TX-25), Pete Sessions (TX-17), Wesley Hunt (TX-38), Morgan Lutrell (TX-8), Jodey Arrington (TX-19) and Kay Granger (TX-12).


Read the full letter here